Posted in Beasts and Savages, The Beastly Series

Reactions to Publication

If you’ve ever written or published anything, you may be able to relate to this post.

If you’re reading this, you know that on October 1, I published a YA novel called Beasts and Savages. See cover above. 🙂

As I come out of my writing induced coma and go out into the world to socialize, I’ve realized a few things. First of all, where I live, we’re having a rather nice fall. Who knew? Second, the conversations I have with people about my book are hilarious. Here are a few examples:

Question:

“What’s your book about?”

Answer:

“Girls who are bred from semi-weres and are trained to mate with boys, and then kill them. Think praying mantis.”

Responses:

“But you’re so nice.”   “Its always the quiet ones you have to watch out for.”  “I think your day job is getting to your head.”  “Is this based on a real thing?”  (What?)  And my favorite, from one of the cops I work with: “What did you say?” as he backed away slowly, hand on holster.

Question: “Why did you decide to write a novel?”

Answer (in my head): I love writing. It is my drug. My imagination is so huge, I need to let it run free on paper. When I’m writing, I’m at my happy place, escaping reality for a short while. It’s refreshing.

Answer (out loud, while shrugging): “I had the idea, and I like writing, so … “

Author:

I have an imagination. A huge imagination. It has been know to get me into trouble from time to time. I've been an avid reader my entire life and now am embracing the writer in me.

4 thoughts on “Reactions to Publication

Leave a Reply

