Posted in Beasts and Savages, The Beastly Series

Huntober Highlights ~Milli Gilbert ~

For my first author interview in my Huntober promotion, Milli Gilbert has graciously accepted my invitation.

Name: Milli Gilbert

Location: Twin Cities, MN

Do you have a favorite book/author?

Hmm… I read a few different genres, so I have my preferences in each – Vince Flynn and Clive Cussler, Tami Hoag, Nora Roberts, Pamela Britton (because NASCAR romances? Heck yeah!) And of course Dr. Seuss.

Where do you do most of your writing?

My couch and a gamer shop called Your Mom’s Basement on Tuesdays at my weekly write in with my NaNo MLs.

When did you start writing?

As soon as I started learning how to spell, of course! But as far as fun writing goes, probably about 8th grade, during the poetry unit. That evolved into me using writing to clarify my thoughts so I could explain myself better to my dad without starting an argument. And then I discovered the fun of stories.

What’s your favorite type of writing to write? To read? Romance and Cowboy romances. I love my cowboys. I’ve been getting more into the paranormal stuff lately though, in writing and reading.

Do you write to background noise?

I have kids – always! And when I’m at my write-in, there are bombs going off on nearby computers, the shop’s playlist for the day, or if I need to tune all that out, I’ll pull up my own playlist.

Do you scribble your ideas on paper? outline?

Scribble, yes. Outline… that’s what my first draft is. I refine from there. I’m what’s known as a pantser. I write by the seat of my pants. Though, the last couple of novel-length pieces I’ve started have been more planned than pantsed. And they’re still steeping. Or simmering, maybe?

Where do you get your inspiration?

From everywhere. One of the works that’s still bubbling away on the back burner wasn’t planned at all. But a lot of my IRL friends and family all read a lot of fantasy and science fiction, so during NaNoWriMo last November, I had this crazy dragon force his way into the conversation, completely blocking out the cowboy I was trying to write about.

Who is your favorite character that you have created?

Oh, wow. That’s a tough one. I have a few. So I’ll settle for two of them. My Vella and Rafe pairing, because one would not be who they are without the other. Their histories are so woven together, there is no room for them to be apart. Her past is a direct result of his, but his past wouldn’t exist the way it does without her. She’s a wolf-shifter and he’s (in their world) what’s called a Foreshadow, or Shadow for short, and can see flashes of events yet to happen. 

What are you working on now?

My current WIP is called Shift, about two shape-shifting people. It’s scheduled for release on October 18th in the Autumn volume of the Bowman’s Inn anthologies, and will be my 2nd publication. She’s a fox-shifter, he’s a panther shifter. She’s starting over in Anteros, he’s quit running from a past that has nagged him since he was a child. It’s a paranormal romance. The general idea is that at the Bowman’s Inn, the bartender has his own secret – he’s really Eros (Or Cupid, if you prefer.) When he sees two people who need each other, he serves them up one of his special drinks, and then sits back and lets the sparks fly. (He’s given up the old bow and arrow bit for a more modern approach.)

Did you enjoy learning about Milli as much as I did? Great! For more information and to find out where you can get your copy of the Autumn volume of the Bowman’s Inn Anthologies click here:

Author:

I have an imagination. A huge imagination. It has been know to get me into trouble from time to time. I've been an avid reader my entire life and now am embracing the writer in me.

Leave a Reply

