Posted in Beasts and Savages, The Beastly Series

A Few of My Favorite Things

Just a heads up, there are no whiskers on kittens or raindrops on roses in this post. And no one will be singing. There is,  however, a twelve year old hunter giving her opinion on the savages known as men, quotes from my favorite villains, and a cute scene with some ambitious little boys.

Lea Corre is a strong, independent protagonist and I love her, but she’s not my favorite character. By far, my favorite character is Lea’s best friend Rally. She’s 12, very loyal, and has a sweet spunky side. Rally’s not afraid to say what’s on her mind. Here’s some of her best scenes:

“I can’t take it anymore!” Rally ripped the end off of her envelope. She jumped up and squealed, “Yes! Green!” She danced and her fists pumped in the air. Rally stopped and gave me a serious look. “Your turn.”

“Wow, Lea. Who knew you could actually look good?” One of the twins had her hands on her hips, glaring at me.

I tugged on the skirt to cover as much skin as possible. “Uh, thanks. I guess.”

“Mind your own beeswax.” Rally stuck her tongue out before turning back to me. “Of course you look good. I dressed you.”

“Are you asking me if I want a baby? Because the answer is yes. I hate going through the change every month. Waking up after two days feeling weak, wondering how I bruised and cut myself so badly. Seeing the scratches on the door that I know I made. And that deep hunger that lingers for days.” She shuddered. “I want to stop going through that.” She paused and added, “I want to feel a little life growing inside me. I want to cuddle a chubby little baby and teach her to grow strong and proud.” Rally stood and started to leave. “I think all of that is worth the life of one boy. He’s just a man, a savage.”

“But he’s still a human.” I countered.

Rally stopped walking and turned back to me. “Barely. Why do you think we have to wear costumes? It makes us look like them.” She paused. “Besides, my mom said they volunteer for the hunt. I’m not sure how the girl who told her knew. I doubt they are capable of using language. Anyway, going through changings is awful, and I’m sure the hunt will be just as bad. I want a daughter and am willing to go through whatever it takes to have one.” She left without a single glance back.

Beasts and Savages has a few villains, and it’s hard to pick just one. When it comes down to it, two are tied for the top spot: Miller and Anderson.

Miller because he says things like this:

“I should’ve killed you while I had the chance, beast.”

and

“What and ruin your little house pet? I was just teaching the animal some manners.”

And Anderson because of things like this:

“Torres, don’t let their beauty fool you. They’re deadly. When you let your guard down, they’ll get you.”

and

Anderson answered him, “There’s probably only one way to find out. I say we give her to Creech, see what happens. He could break her just as good as Miller.”

Now for my favorite scene. This wasn’t hard, actually. I love these little boys and this has always been my favorite scene.

Little voices were pulling me into consciousness. I didn’t move and kept my eyes shut. Maybe these little boys would untie my arms.

“It doesn’t look like a monster.”

“She. Tanner said call it she.”

“Well, she doesn’t look scary. She looks nice. A little fuzzy maybe. Like a cat.”

“She’s not a cat. She’s too big.”

“I know that! Anyway, her fur doesn’t look real.”

“Let’s find out.” I felt a little hand brush over my halter. He brushed over the bare skin of my stomach and ran his hand back up, wedging it under the edge. I jumped, releasing a gasp. They screamed and moved away from me.

“It’s not real.” The first little boy whispered. He was about five years old and the other a year or two older.

“It’s okay,” I spoke as softly as I could; “I’m not going to hurt you.” The two boys jumped and screamed again. They ran to the stairs, bumping into Tanner.

“Boys! Go upstairs and stay there!” He pointed up the stairwell. The boys rocked from one foot to the other while examining the ground. “Go on.” His voice was softer, but firm. They sulked, but began to climb the stairs.

The first little boy stopped. “Tanner?”

“Yeah?” 

“Her fur isn’t real.” He hung on the banister, watching me intently.

“Thanks, buddy.” Tanner grinned and raised an eyebrow at me. The little boy beamed before running up the stairs with the other one following close behind.

…And those are a few of my favorite things. Happy Huntober!

Author:

I have an imagination. A huge imagination. It has been know to get me into trouble from time to time. I've been an avid reader my entire life and now am embracing the writer in me.

Leave a Reply

