Posted in Uncategorized

Huntober Highlights ~ Marylee MacDonald ~

Marylee MacDonald is my next featured author in the Huntober promotion.  Let’s see what she has to say:
Name: Marylee MacDonald

Location: Tempe, AZ and Evanston, IL

Do you have a favorite book/author?

Anton Chekhov

Where do you do most of your writing?

A small office nook on the second floor of my house, but I go to coffee shops, too.

When did you start writing?

I wrote my first novel when I was sixteen and a senior in high school. I’m seventy now.

What’s your favorite type of writing to write? To read?

I write and read literary fiction.

Do you write to background noise?

I prefer writing when it’s really quiet. If I’m in a coffee shop and people are talking, I find it hard to concentrate.

Do you scribble your ideas on paper? outline?

I scribble on paper to get started. I also work in Scrivener. That has been a big time saver.

Where do you get your inspiration?

From travel, mostly.

Who is your favorite character that you have created?

My favorite character is Mr. Tanaka from my short story collection, BONDS OF LOVE & BLOOD. He’s a Japanese man who comes to California for his daughter’s wedding and finds she’s about to sabotage her marriage. The story he’s in is called “The Ambassador of Foreign Affairs.”

When I asked Marylee if she had anything new going on in her writing life, she sent me this wonderful piece:

I’m super excited about my short story collection, BONDS OF LOVE & BLOOD. It will be out in January, 2016, but it’s listed on Goodreads now, and I’m doing a giveaway right now. The stories are about the things that bind us together and drive us apart. Here are a couple of advance reviews. http://bit.ly/1QPXViM and http://bit.ly/1VtGBqp . I’ve been almost embarrassed at how good these reviews are, and I’m very grateful. I’ve been writing for a long time, and, finally, I’m getting work out of my drawer and into the world.

Thank you, Marylee MacDonald, for sharing with us, and for getting your work out there!

Author:

I have an imagination. A huge imagination. It has been know to get me into trouble from time to time. I've been an avid reader my entire life and now am embracing the writer in me.

Leave a Reply

