Posted in Uncategorized

Huntober Highlights ~ Tracy Lawson ~

Tracy Lawson, author of The Resistance Series, is my interview today. I met her at the Ohioanna Book Festival in April and she is one of the authors who inspired me to move forward with my work.

Location:

I divide my time between Dallas, Texas and Columbus, Ohio (but mostly in Dallas)

Do you have a favorite book/author?

I have so many authors I admire, but I have a great deal of admiration for the late Daniel Keyes, author of Flowers for Algernon, and my college creative writing professor. I learned so much from him, and it’s truly amazing how Flowers for Algernon grew from a Hugo-award winning short story to a novel, then a film, and even a Broadway musical.

Where do you do most of your writing?

We just moved to a new house in July, and I LOVE my home office. It’s loaded with books, a kitchen-table sized desk, and a comfy sofa–and I decorated it in pink and turquoise to discourage my husband from setting up shop in there! I also like writing outside, especially when I’m composing new scenes. I write on legal pads first, and just follow the characters as they interact. The scenes take shape when I type them into the computer later.

When did you start writing?

I’ve wanted to be a writer all my life. I began research for my first book, a nonfiction history based on a journal written by my great-great-grandfather, in 1991. It took me 20 years, working intermittently, to finish that book and get a publishing contract. That was when I got serious, and began work on The Resistance Series. Now I’ve got two more volumes left in that series, another history book in the works, I’m doing preliminary research for a YA historical fiction, and I’ve got an idea for another YA series.

What’s your favorite type of writing to write? To read?

 I love reading and writing YA, especially dystopian and thrillers. I enjoy writing history every bit as much, because I love digging around and doing research. Real life is every bit as interesting as fiction.

Do you write to background noise?

Sometimes I write to music. I have a Spotify playlist of songs, which you can find on my website, that inspired me while I was writing Counteract.

Do you scribble your ideas on paper? outline?

I do outline, but I’m not as disciplined as I’d like to be. The ideas don’t always come in order. I’m doing a lot of cutting and pasting while working on Ignite, the third book about Tommy and Careen.

Where do you get your inspiration?

I get inspiration from my daughter and her friends. I was mentoring a friend of my daughter’s when the initial idea for Counteract came about. Chase is a pretty sharp guy and an excellent writer—and when he was in high school I had a lot of fun working with him and editing some of his short stories. We had finished working on a story about baseball, a broken nose, and a broken heart, and were ready to start something new, when he suggested we write scenes in response to the prompt: “What if everyone were on LSD and all thoughts were communal?” It was certainly thought provoking! Chase created the characters Tommy and Eduardo, I created Careen, and right away, we knew we were onto something. Obviously, the story morphed and changed a lot before it became the finished version of Counteract—but that was how it all began.

Who is your favorite character that you have created?

I feel very close to Careen. She’s probably the character the most like me. But I really love some of my supporting cast–they have big, quirky personalities. Jaycee Carraway is definitely a favorite of mine, and Atari, one of the minor characters who’s taking on a larger role in Ignite, has been loads of fun to write. He always says exactly what he thinks, and sometimes I laugh out loud while I’m writing his dialogue. It’s amazing what a character will say when they have no fear–and no filter!

Counteract was originally released in 2014, but was re-released in a second edition (and a brand-new cover) concurrently with Resist in August 2015.

If you’d like to know more about Tracy or where you can get her books, the links are below.
Resistance Series:

Fips, Bots, Doggeries, and More:
http://www.amazon.com/dp/1935778196

Follow me on Twitter: @TracySLawson

My website: http://tracylawsonbooks.com

Thank you, Tracy for sharing with us!
Author:

I have an imagination. A huge imagination. It has been know to get me into trouble from time to time. I've been an avid reader my entire life and now am embracing the writer in me.

2 thoughts on “Huntober Highlights ~ Tracy Lawson ~

Leave a Reply

