Posted in Uncategorized

Huntober Highlights ~ Lissa Bryan ~

Alright, ladies and gentlemen, another very exciting author interview is at your disposal! Today I’m featuring this great author:

lbryan    Lissa Bryan… Reader, writer, and dreamer.

She is yet another lovely person I met at Ohioanna in April, is joining us while on her The End of All Things series tour, and was gracious enough to do an interview. YAY!

Location:

I live in Ohio, which is an absolutely beautiful state, a place of rolling hills, open skies, and quiet woods. I love exploring it and every time I travel, I find something new and interesting.

Do you have a favorite book/author?

I have so many favorites that I’d exhaust my computer’s memory trying to name them all. I’ll try to cut it down to a few.

Margaret George is my favorite historical fiction author (though it’s a close race with Colleen McCollough). She makes history live and breathe.

Stephen King is my favorite horror writer. I’m fascinated with the way he can create a character with just a few lines.

Emily Brontë is my favorite Victorian author. I love the way she can turn a simple phrase into a prose poem.

Magraret Atwood is my favorite dystopian/sic-fi author. I’ve read The Handmaid’s Tale countless times, and I adore Oryx and Crake, especially since I read an article today that lab-grown meat is only six months away from market.

Catherine Anderson is my favorite romance author. I’m a sucker for a sweet love story. One of my author friends, Sydney Logan, writes a similar style. Don’t tell Catherine, but Sydney is close to taking over.

Where do you do most of your writing? 

I have a home office that I share with my True Love. He plays video games on his computer while I type away on mine. Even though we’re both occupied with our own stuff, we’re still together. Our dogs curl up at our feet, and it’s quite a cozy arrangement. We’re building an office of my own in the attic, but I worry I’ll miss him (and I wonder if the dogs will choose to stay with him over me!)

When did you start writing?

In 2011 I finally started typing up and posting online some of the stories I had “written” in my head over the years. It was more or less on a whim. I din’t think anyone would ever read it, but I liked the idea of it floating around out there in cyberspace, maybe someday being found by a reader who would enjoy my crazy little tale. To my shock, it became popular, and that was sort of scary and intimidating at first, because I’m an intensely private person. A few months later, I heard from a publisher, who asked me if I’d ever considered writing a book. It took a lot of adjustment on my part, getting used to talking to readers and such, but I finally found a balance where I’m comfortable. My first novel came out in 2012. It’s been a crazy four years, and I can’t wait to see where the next four years takes me.

What’s your favorite type of writing to write? To read?

I like a good story, regardless of how it’s written. My favorite style is third person, past tense (it’s the one I always use when writing), but if it suits the needs of the story, I can enjoy first person or present tense, or whatever the author chose to use to tell it.

Do you write to background noise?

When I’m under a deadline and trying to write as quickly as possible, I listen to electronica dance music – stuff with a fast, driving beat and few lyrics to distract my mind. (Fatboy Slim, The Chemical Brothers, The Prodigy, etc.)

Do you scribble your ideas on paper? outline?

The only time I scribble stuff down is at night – I keep a pad of paper by my bed because the most fertile moments for my imagination are in that thin line between wakefulness and sleep. And then I have to decide whether to wake up fully and roll over to write it down, or snuggle down into my warm pillow and drift off. The biggest lie I tell myself is, “I’ll remember that in the morning.” But writing it down doesn’t always help. It’s hard to decipher my own handwriting!

I’ve never outlined anything. I’m not sure if I could, honestly. I write the story in my head and then work on getting it typed up into manuscript form. But it never quite comes out as eloquently as it was in my mind. That was a point of intense frustration for me when I was writing Ghostwriter. Seth had such a beautiful, poetic turn of phrase, and I was never quite able to capture his voice with my clumsy words.

Where do you get your inspiration?

From everywhere! Books, movies, people I encounter on the street, random thoughts that flit through my mind. The question that always starts it all is, “What if…?” Some of them blossom into stories in my head. Most of them fall by the wayside, but some of them become full-fledged novels in my mind, and I keep mentally working on them until they’re “done.” It used to be, I’d tuck them away on a mental shelf and start thinking of a new story, but now I’m actually writing them out and sharing them with the world.

Who is your favorite character that you have created?

That’s a hard question. It’s like asking a mother her favorite child. I love them all for different reasons. I love Carly from The End of All Things for her optimism and tenacity. I love Seth from Ghostwriter for his wounded poet’s soul. I love Will from Under These Restless Skies, and my Anne Boleyn, too! It’s just impossible to say which one has my heart the most when they’re all part of it.

TEOAT-Series-3D-Book-stack So, wanna know where you can score this great book? Well, she’s got a giveaway going. Enter here for your chance to win! Or you can head over to The Book Gardener and check out the entire giveaway package!

To connect with Lissa, click on the social media links below:

Twitter

Facebook

Author:

I have an imagination. A huge imagination. It has been know to get me into trouble from time to time. I've been an avid reader my entire life and now am embracing the writer in me.

2 thoughts on “Huntober Highlights ~ Lissa Bryan ~

Leave a Reply

