Posted in Uncategorized

Huntober Highlights ~ AJ Flowers ~

Today’s Huntober Highlight is AJ Flowers. Born and raised in Key West, FL, she now resides in Detroit, MI for the automotive industry.

She writes a blog and is the author of  Fallen to Grace, a YA Angel Fantasy, and is in the works of securing a publisher for her book.

Let’s find out what this up and coming author is all about: 

 

Do you have a favorite book/author?

Brightly Burning by Mercedes Lackey. It’s about a firestarter… enough said.

Where do you do most of your writing?

Usually on the couch with my laptop and a nice cup of coffee. I hate trying to write in noisy coffee shops. I don’t know how anyone can concentrate!

When did you start writing?

I wrote poems in middle school and high school, but it was only when I went to college that I started to write a novel. Since I was one of the only girls in engineering, it was hard to make connections, so I turned to writing in my free time. It started out as a short story, but four years later it was a completed first draft of a trilogy.

 

What’s your favorite type of writing to write? To read?

I always say that I live in the real world, so I don’t want to read or write about it too! I love stories that create a new world completely different from the one I live in. That’s why I enjoy high or epic fantasy so much. I’ll tolerate urban fantasy, I’ve even started writing one, but it’s not my true love.

Do you write to background noise?

While I prefer peace and quiet, I am not the only person in the world. I usually tune out my husband’s video game or my cat’s howls while I try to write :) If I want to listen to music, it can’t have lyrics and I need it very quiet otherwise it’s just distracting.

 

Do you scribble your ideas on paper? outline?

I keep a “muse-book”, as I like to call it, with me at all times. If I have ideas or epiphanies, I’ll write it down. I keep a list of facts, places, and people’s descriptions. My worst nightmare is writing about a side character with short, black hair, and then at the end of the book he has long, blonde hair because I completely forgot.

 

Where do you get your inspiration?

I don’t really understand what people mean when they say they need “inspiration”. I just sit down and start writing. I approach writing the same way I do drawing or painting: With one line. It turns into two, and then it keeps going until I’ve made a face or a tree, then I start to shade it and make it more and more detailed and believable. Then at the end, it’s a finished piece. I don’t know what it’s going to look like when I start, but with an eraser in hand I can take out lines that don’t make sense until I have a solid piece.

It’s the same for writing. I’ve written a trilogy, a stand-alone novel with series potential, and now I’m currently working on a novelette. All of them started in more or less the same way. I have a single idea, or even just an emotion, that develops first paragraph or chapter. It always starts with an inciting incident, and if I haven’t come up with what is going to be the main conflict, I brainstorm for a short-term outline. I won’t make a detailed outline, because if I try, my characters won’t listen to me and I’ll have written an outline for a story I won’t write. But I do outline the next few incidents and see where the plot takes me.

Because of my style, I’ve junked entire chapters and even characters in the revisions. It may be the long way around to writing a novel, but it’s my process.

Back to the original question of “inspiration”, I think everything inspires me. I’m moved by nature, my faith, and the art in human emotion that is around us every day. There’s an endless supply of mystical and beautiful things if we take the time to consider them.

 

Who is your favorite character that you have created?

That would be Damian. No one will get to meet him for quite a while, as he isn’t really introduced until the second novel in my trilogy. The first novel, Fallen to Grace, is finished/edited and I’m looking for the right agent to represent it. So it’ll be some time before the second novel makes it through the final revision and publishing gauntlet.

It’s hard to say what I love about Damian, because he’s a major character in the second and third books, so I don’t want to give away his character arc. But to put it briefly, he’s an angel with glowing eyes, a cocky attitude and a pack of abs that just won’t quit. Wait I just think I found out why he’s my favorite…

~Connecting with AJ Flowers~

If you missed the link to her blog, here it is again 🙂 :

http://ajflowers.org/blog

Social Media Connections:
https://www.facebook.com/alyssajflowers
https://twitter.com/AJFlowers86
https://www.tumblr.com/blog/alyssajflowers

Author:

I have an imagination. A huge imagination. It has been know to get me into trouble from time to time. I've been an avid reader my entire life and now am embracing the writer in me.

One thought on “Huntober Highlights ~ AJ Flowers ~

Leave a Reply

