Posted in Uncategorized

A Reveiw of Defects: The Reverians Book One by Sarah Noffke

In November, I was given a copy of Defects: The Reverians Book One by Sarah Noffke to read and review.

Defects (The Reverians, #1) - Sarah Noffke [7805]

The description of this book on Amazon starts out with: “In the happy, clean community of Austin Valley, everything appears to be perfect. Seventeen-year-old Em Fuller, however, fears something is askew. Em is one of the new generation of Dream Travelers. For some reason, the gods have not seen fit to gift all of them with their expected special abilities. ”

I’ll be honest, I might not have picked up this book based on the cover. However, the description caught my attention. Dream Travelers. Expected Special Abilities. At this, I thought, “Go on…”

And go on I did. I read the entire book quickly. It’s the kind of book that builds on itself until the reader reaches a great crescendo of action. And, of course, there is the satisfaction, albeit partial, that can only come at the end of a book at the beginning of a series. The kid of ending that lets you come to terms with the events you’ve experienced while reading, but leaves you yearning for more.

Now, I could go into all the details of Em’s life as a defective Dream Traveler, her friendship with Zack, her seemingly  inability to do anything right by her parents, the incredibly painful injections she has to take to treat her “disability”, her affinity for the Middling (non-gifted by birth) life, and her romance with Rogue, but these things almost seem secondary to the main story line, which is the tyranny that the president of Austin Valley and his cronies, her father included,  want to impose on their world.  However, If I divulge much more information, it might count as a spoiler.

Em Fuller is a relatable character who’s easy to like. She doesn’t fit in to her cult-like society and becomes a heroine in danger because she’s smart,curious, and knows when something’s hinky. I love how she’s willing to give up everything she’s known to set things right in her world. I just wish that she would have been sensible enough to see Zack’s obvious feelings for her.

Zach is Em’s best friend, and keeps her out of trouble in the beginning. There was a moment that I was certain he was going to turn on her, especially since he has been friend-zoned so hard, but I think that when he learns what his former mentors are doing, he is as heartbroken as she is.

Rogue is a ghost from the past come-to-life in the form of a seductive cowboy-esque boyfriend. Adolescence doesn’t have a thing on him, and he is just the right mix of mystery, strength, wit, and sensitivity. No wonder Em is completely smitten with him from the time he reenters her life.  Though he is the same age as Em and Zack, he has lived on his own for a few years and had even built himself a house.  He is wise beyond his years and the person who reveals to Em why she hasn’t received her abilities.

Overall, I really liked this book and will be putting the next to on my TBR list. If you’re looking for a dystopia mixed with fantasy that has a believable style, then this is the book for you.

 

 

Author:

I have an imagination. A huge imagination. It has been know to get me into trouble from time to time. I've been an avid reader my entire life and now am embracing the writer in me.

Leave a Reply

