Posted in Starving Author

Starving Author’s War On Sugar

If you are wondering why I’m suddenly writing a health/diet post, check out my page here. I promise that it is only once a week and that tomorrow I will go back to writing about writing… and reading. 🙂

sugar
Photo from Chicago Parent

Ah, the sweet stuff. It’s in everything from ketchup to soda to bread. Now, I’m not talking about naturally occurring sugar found in fruits. I’m talking the little white (or brown) granules we sprinkle on or stir into our favorite foods and drinks.

If you google the word sugar, you get thousands and thousands of articles about how terrible sugar is for you. According to Jasmine Jafferali of Chicago Parent, “Sugar is the most addictive substance we have in the world. Some say it is more addictive than cocaine. Side by side brain scans show that the brain will produce as much dopamine (the feel good neurotransmitter) and release opiate-like substances activating the brain’s reward system just like cocaine.”

sugar addict.jpg

My name is Emma, and I’m a sugar addict. It’s been 12 hours since that brownie w/ice cream. And my journey to losing weight, and becoming healthy, starts here. This is the challenge for my first week of Starving Author:

According to avacodocentral.com, the average pear has 16.18 grams of sugar in it (per serving). My goal is to not eat anything that has more grams of sugar per serving than a pear. Can I do it? I’ll let you know next week.

Are you waging your own war on sugar, or trying to be more healthy for 2016? Have you won a battle against sugar or succeeded in losing weight? Have advice for me? Share your stories, I’d love to know.

Author:

I have an imagination. A huge imagination. It has been know to get me into trouble from time to time. I've been an avid reader my entire life and now am embracing the writer in me.

3 thoughts on “Starving Author’s War On Sugar

Leave a Reply

