Posted in Beasts and Savages, The Beastly Series

Accentuating the Positive

In the words of Bing Crosby, “You’ve got to accentuate the positive
Eliminate the negative
Latch on to the affirmative
Don’t mess with Mister In-Between.”

 

So what an I so chipper about?

I got my first 2 star review. I know, I know sounds terrible, right? Wrong. Turns out I just wasn’t the reader’s style. Which is fine. The point is that my book got in their hands, and they felt compelled to tell people about it.  Sure the initial, “Wait, what?!” was there, and I had a nice talk with my sister, who suggested they could asphyxiate via phallus in not so eloquent terms. I assured her that wasn’t necessary. Instead, I’m going to take the review as a critique and strive for better in the second book of the Beastly Series.  Besides, even the most famous authors have critics, right?

quote-there-is-no-such-thing-as-bad-publicity-except-your-own-obituary-brendan-behan-2-25-32

To illustrate my point, I looked up the stats (on the same site) of one of my favorite first books in a series: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare.

city of bones

7% of readers gave the book a one or two star review. That’s 78,356 readers who didn’t like the book… and decided to tell someone about it.

Considering that this series starts as the television show Shadowhunters on ABC Family Freeform on January 19th, I think Cassandra Clare is good.  At least, I would be.

My point is, negative reviews happen. It’s all in how you react to them. One bad review isn’t going to stop my from writing, or publishing, and it shouldn’t stop anyone else. I guess this means I’m growing as an author. In October, I was an infant. Now, I’m a toddler.

life camera

I started this blog so that other new and soon-to-be authors could learn from my experiences and relate. If one person reads this, and it compels them to keep writing, then I’ve done my job.

Author:

I have an imagination. A huge imagination. It has been know to get me into trouble from time to time. I've been an avid reader my entire life and now am embracing the writer in me.

Leave a Reply

