Posted in Uncategorized

International Women’s Day

Today is International Women’s Day.

What does that mean, exactly? Well, we celebrate women and their accomplishments, and we also recognize that the progress isn’t over.

Just last night, I had a frank discussion about the presidential election and women with my daughter. She’s seven and was curious about how many women had been president. When I told her none, she was outraged.

“How can that be, Mama? There are so many girls that are smarter than boys.”

I nearly choked on my ice cream.

She then assumed that I’d be voting for Hillary Clinton so that a woman would be president. I explained to her that women’s equality meant not voting for someone because of their gender, but despite it. A president should be elected base on their ideas and experience, not by outward factors. We’ll have to go over this again when she’s older, I’m sure.

And when I told her that there was a time when women weren’t allowed to vote, she told me she was too angry to talk about it anymore. I showed her the picture below, and for now we dropped the subject.

 

According to wisegeek.com, women still cannot vote in Saudi Arabia and Vatican City, though the latter only votes on the pope, and the only voting members are cardinals under the age of 80, none of which are women because women cannot be ordained priests. There are several other countries that hold elections, and women can legally vote, but  are discouraged to do so.

What to know what you can do to help? Click here to learn about organizations that strive to help women worldwide.

Now that I’ve discussed a little bit about women and politics, let’s get on with celebrating women. Specifically, women indie authors.

Have you heard of Lisa De Jong? She’s a best selling author on Amazon and has nine books under her belt.  Her latest book was published on December 27.2015. Check it out:

On December 30, she had an interview with Huffington Post.

She published her first book in 2013, and hasn’t stopped since.

She has over 30,000 ratings on Goodreads, and has followers asking her when her next book will be out.

 

 

 

What about Deborah Blanton?

She has over 46 works listed on her author page, and her first was in 2013. Her latest, Pulse, releases in April, 2016.

 

And, last, but definitely not least, Eva Lesko Natiello. Her book The Memory Box  bumped Girl on the Train off of Amazon’s number 1 list. That’s right. Read about it here.

The Memory Box

Eva also a really great website. Check it out: http://evanatiello.com/.

What do these women have in common? They’re successful indie authors. I applaud them, and I hope you do, too.

 

Author:

I have an imagination. A huge imagination. It has been know to get me into trouble from time to time. I've been an avid reader my entire life and now am embracing the writer in me.

Leave a Reply

