Posted in Uncategorized, young adult

Books vs Movies, a Top 5 List

If you think this is going to be another post about how much better books are than their movie counterparts, then stop reading. Stop reading right now. Go on, I’ll wait.

popcorn-movie3

 

Okay, now that that’s over with, everyone else grab some popcorn and let’s talk movies that got their start as books. I love books, and I love movies. Sometimes, these things go hand in hand and I have a moment of sheer bliss. Or not. Because darn it, their plan in the book is so much better than what they did in the movie! And the ending? The movie ending was waay better. Since I’m an avid reader and writer of young adult fiction, we’re going to stay in that genre. And I promise I’m only going to discuss books that I’ve read and their subsequent movies that I’ve watched. *THERE WILL BE SPOILERS. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED*

Emma’s Top 5 Books vs Movies

  1. harry potterhp moiveThe Harry Potter Series by J. K Rowling

    Please. You should have known. I’m a huge Potter fan. While I must admit that I *gasp* watched the first two movies before reading the book series, I like them both. Equally. J.K. Rowling did a wonderful job of knowing and loving her characters,  and keeping up with a plot that flows and ebbs throughout seven books is an amazing feat. Steve Kloves did a great job keeping the magic J.K. Rowling weaved alive for eight movies. Yes, there are differences, but nothing that made the movies any worse for ware. Frankly, I’m glad I didn’t have to see the Death Day Party, reading about it was enough.

    My Vote: It’s a win, win!

    Movie:                                                      Book:

popcorn vote                                                     popcorn vote

 

Hungergames_poster hungergamesmovie  2. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Once again, I watched the movie before reading the book series. But only the first movie, and catching the movie at 3am while I was wrapping Christmas gifts was what got me back into reading YA books, so no regrets. You know what I did miss in the movie, though? No Madge Undersee. It completely changed the meaning of the Mocking Jay. I can understand why they changed the prison sentence at the end of Mocking Jay in the movie, someone sitting in a cell with nothing happening isn’t very good in movies, but it didn’t mention Gale or Katniss’ mother at the end of the movie. Bummer.

My Vote: It’s a win for the book!

Movie:     Nope. 😦                                         Book:  

popcorn vote

city of ember

ember movie

3. City of Ember by Jeanne Duprau

The movie had everything. Giant bugs and rodents, a few really cool scenes in the waterworks, a connection between Lina and Doon’s parents, a religious cult that completely ignores the failing city around them, and a satisfying end to the mayor. What does the book have? Well, without the book, the movie wouldn’t exist, but the mayor still would.  I’d say that’s where the book ends.

My Vote: The movie gets the vote.

Movie:                                                      Book: Nope 😦

popcorn vote

divergent4. Divergent Series by Veronica Roth  imagesdivergentmovie

I’m going to be a hipster for just a moment here. I read Divergent before Allegiant was published, and well before any movie was advertised. Does that mean I automatically hated the movie? No. In fact, I was one of those people that went with a group of friends on opening weekend and was super excited to see one of my favorite books come to life. The beginning of the movie was awesome, but there were some crucial parts changed and/or left out as the movie went along. No one lost an eye in the movie. And Tris helping Four with his fear of small spaces? Way sexier in the book, and it help developed their romance better. But my biggest complaint about the movie? Tris’ mom. In the book, she was a tattooed, double gun wielding, bad-ass that faced her death head on so that Tris could escape. In the movie, she got struck by a stray bullet and died peacefully in an alley while the Dauntless under mind control gave Tris plenty of time to weep. I bet movie goers who hadn’t even known it was a book would’ve like the book version better.

My Vote: It’s a win for the book!

Movie:     Nope. 😦                                         Book:  

popcorn vote

 

narnia book  narnia movie5.The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe by C. S. Lewis

I first read the book when I was a kid, and I enjoyed it. But when the movie came out in 2005, I was captivated. I reread the book, and read others in the series for the first time. If Walden media wouldn’t have produced the film, I most likely wouldn’t have gone back to Narnia. For that, the movie gets my vote.

 

My Vote: The movie gets the vote.

Movie:                                                      Book: Sometimes movies unite us with books.

popcorn vote

Final Tally:

Books: 3

Movies: 3

 

Tie Breaker

city of bones book  bones movie  City of Bones by Clarissa Clare

I enjoyed the book enough to read the entire series, which means it hit every YA troupe that I usually read (and a few that I don’t, but I forgave in this case 😉 ). I read them well after the movie was released and didn’t even know there was a movie until six months ago. After watching it, I understood why. If I were Clare, I wouldn’t mention it either. Though I haven’t seen the TV show, it seems better than the movie based on the trailers alone.

My Vote: It’s a win for the book!

Movie:     Nope. 😦                                         Book:  

popcorn vote

 

Do you agree with my choices? Wish there was a book/movie combo I would’ve done? What would you have picked?

Also, every book/movie cover is a link to the book or movie if you’d like to check them out.

 

Author:

I have an imagination. A huge imagination. It has been know to get me into trouble from time to time. I've been an avid reader my entire life and now am embracing the writer in me.

Leave a Reply

